Skip to content

Video Series

Everything is Slow Motion

Play Video
Release Date: July 14th, 2021

“Everything in Slow Motion” explores the silent and slow pain that is so often connected with racial injustice and inequality in the United States. Mia Pixley takes us on a meditative journey of self-reflection through the de Young Museum’s nationally focused artwork, shedding light on internal
struggle and resilience that are awakened through music, singing, and dance.

Mia Pixley – Composer, cello and voice
Kimberly Marie Olivier – dance
Luis Salcedo – guitar
Michaelle Goerlitz – percussion
Ruth Davies – bass
Brian Simmons – keyboard

Saul Richmond-Rakerd – cello
Evan Kahn – cello
Adelle Akiko-Kearns – cello

Produced by Mercury Soul and The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco

More Episodes

Bach Beats Bates

Release Date: July 7th, 2021

Time Stands Still

Release Date: July 28th, 2021